Six Reasons Why I Will Add Paid Component to My News Site Business Plan

As the U.S. print media knows well, undoing a mistake is much harder than making it. Fortunately for me, my business errors (for now) are simply a question of reworking some hypotheses on a powerpoint presentation rather than reinventing on the fly the way you generate and collect revenue. So, my own personal verdict is in: my would-be world news website will have a system for charging for content. Details to come…

1. 9 out of 10 dentists agree: Ad revenue alone will never cut it

2. will mark our content as original/top-shelf, as differentiated from generic/commodity

3. NYTimes will be doing it

4. South Coast Today (Massachusetts) is already doing it

5. Loyal (paying) visitors are better customers for my advertisers

6. Steve Jobs wants me to

1 Comment

Filed under advertising, branding, business model, paywalls, platforms

One response to “Six Reasons Why I Will Add Paid Component to My News Site Business Plan

  1. Pingback: Building an Online Audience (nearly) from Scratch. Can An Old Media Veteran Bring His Readers With Him? « News Launch Diary

Leave a Reply

